Birthday Month: Day 1

This is the first year of my life that I’m not excited for my birthday. It has been a big year. I got married. I moved out of the Bay Area. I got a dog. It has been a bit of a shock to the system so I haven’t been giving proper attention to my annual celebration of me. I’m mainly thinking about Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

We left her alone last night sans crate because Husband is opposed to crating her despite various vets telling us we should. But she’s good! We went out for a game night which is a very 34-40 age group activity.  It was also a potluck. But the only food at the party was hummus and kale chips with vegan cheese. The lesbian couple ONLY BROUGHT WATER. And not for everyone, just their own bottles of water. Maybe the host was like, don’t worry about it! But if you roll up to my potluck with nothing to share you better take your butt over to King Sooper’s and pick something up.  Luckily I made a bunch of vegan macaroni salad. It was also gluten free, not because I am gluten free but because that was what was in the pantry. Sometimes I like brown rice pasta.  If you make the recipe: use regular pasta to make it yummy and a little agave to cut the vinegar. Oh and I left the onions out because of my IBS. Yep, I have IBS and they say onions are a major trigger. Now you know. Anyway, good thing I made all that macaroni salad.  Husband was all, that’s a lot of macaroni before we left, but  he was glad to have something to eat  besides the aforementioned hummus and kale chips.

We played  Cards Against Humanity. This is not a party game for everyone, only sick and terrible people. We loved it of course. When we got home Buffy was happy to see us, and had done no mischief. We didn’t know what was coming. How could we?

Leave a Reply

