There’s Nothing Magnificent about Guns, Bitches #FlowersOverGuns

Safety is one of my top priorities these days since I had me a baybay. I rely heavily on Husband to keep me and the Red Rasta safe in our home and on the highways because I don’t ever drink and drive. And I like to drink!

     I was taking Buffy the Vampire Slayer for a walk when I thought it would be cool to drunk dial my favorite librarian, and be like, “Hey girl, listen to what happened last night. Husband accidentally left the Slayer in my room(yes we sleep apart due to some snoring and a tiny human that screams during the night) so as I was dozing off, the stupid dog scared the crap out of me by crawling out from under my bed and making me think there was a possum in there with little witch hands and two penises but it was just my dumb rescue dog.”


    So I went to put the dog into Husband’s room and as I opened the door he was up and standing like a zombie in the dark. We yelped and swore at each other but quickly established we both had reason to be up in the middle of the night. One of us to pee and one of us to get a stupid loud ass, rolling dog out of the room and so we retired. But as my librarian homie said,

    “If  that happened where I live you’d both be dead because everyone has guns.”

    Guns suck people. Get the fuck over it. We have to stop glorifying weapons that serve only one purpose: to kill. A knife, you can use for various things besides stabbing; like legit things that do not involve shooting cans or your spouse that surprises you on the way to the pisser.

    Let’s figure out why we so desperately defend our Second Amendment right, which is so 1716, not 2016. We obviously want people we don’t agree with dead. It’s reflected in our culture, particularly in the movies and television and this current election cycle. 

    As a society we love violence.  I’m not ashamed to admit I love certain films that rely on violence as a critical plot point and I can get deep into a Law and Order SVU marathon just like the next basic bitch, but let’s stop and think about what we are doing.

    These people are tiny now, but they are the future.

    14303818_10157316360030005_220765398_o

    The next generation.

    What do we really really really want for them? I’ll  tell you what I want, what I really really want; 


    I want my son to grow up and do good things. I want him to help people. I want him to make the world better than he found it, which I try to do in some small way every day. 

    I’m not  changing world policy but when a Muslim family comes to the library, I smile and help them and make them feel welcome. When a Spanish speaker is struggling I let them know, “Yo hablo español”. 

    When old people can’t handle the computer or their phone I help them figure it out, or more frequently I just do it for them(the digital divide is a thing that you don’t know about if you are not a librarian or someone’s grandkid). 

    You cannot expect to sit back and think the world will change while you do nothing. Nisa!

    You are making your mark on Hollywood. 


    I honor you and I reflect on the message you are trying to put out into the world. We need to stop glorifying violence! We need to think about what we are showing our children.  We tell them that magnificence is power, and money and violence and guns. And that is a lie.

    Magnificence is smiling at a sad old lady that thinks no one sees her because she is old. Magnificence is trying to connect with people and help others every single day,  just because you can.

     You don’t need to save the world, but it’s okay to help a disabled man light his smoke on the street, because maybe it’s not “good”, but it’s kind.

    Magnificence is kindness.Magnificence is making your voice heard, even when no one wants to hear your cries. Guns are not magnificent. 


    You can still make a movie where people shoot each other and not put the guns all over the streets for kids to look at and be like, yeah! I love guns!

    We need to speak out and we need to set important examples for our kids. Even if you don’t have kids,(which is like,  way responsible for the environment btw) you still must do your part. So get out there, put up some flowers, let people in your neighborhood know that you stand for peace, and that you love thy neighbor, regardless of of race, nation of origin or religion. #Flowersoverguns


    Amen. Bitches.

    For more information about #FlowersOverGuns please visit https://www.gofundme.com/2frrqzjp

    Leave a Reply

    